<a id="assigning-team-members-to-roles"></a>
<a id="project-team-assign"></a>
# Assigning Team Members to Roles

The Add Team Members page is used to assign users (via their email addresses) to Roles within the project.

The page displays a multi-line text box for each [Project Role](urls/project_roles/index.html.md#project-roles) defined for the Organization. To assign a user to a Role, type (or paste) the email address of the user into the text box for that Role.

Typing '@' will display a list of users who are already associated with the URL.

When you have assigned users to Roles click the Save button to commit the changes.

<a id="when-a-user-does-not-have-a-trialgrid-account"></a>
## When a User does not have a TrialGrid Account

If the email entered for a User assignment is not recognized by TrialGrid as an existing User then an invitation email is sent to that email address.

The User will have a number of hours to activate their account by visiting the link in the invitation and setting a password. If a user does not receive the email or if the activation period expires then the user can be re-invited using the re-invite button in the Team Member list.

Users who have not yet activated TrialGrid accounts are marked as Inactive in the Project Team list.

> **Important:** Every user in the TrialGrid system belongs to an [Organization](organizations/index.html.md#organization). Organizations have domains (example.com, somewhere.co.uk, bigcompany.fr etc) associated with them. When a user is added with an email that belongs to an Organization, the new user is associated with that Organization.
>
> If a user is invited with an email address in a domain that is not registered to an Organization then the user will be added to the Organization that controls the URL of the project they are being invited to.

<a id="when-a-user-already-has-a-trialgrid-account"></a>
## When a User already has a TrialGrid Account

If the email entered for User assignment is recognized by TrialGrid as an existing User, that User will be notified by email that they have been assigned a Role for this Project.

> **Note:** It is possible to switch the Role of a User already assigned to the Project Team by using the Add Team Members page to invite the User to the new Role. A User can only have one Role in a Project at any time.
